What is the difference between trivalent and quadrivalent flu vaccine?

What is the difference between trivalent and quadrivalent flu vaccine?

If quadrivalent vaccine includes one additional strain, why isn't it preferred for use over trivalent vaccines? Two different types of influenza B virus are likely to cause disease during an influenza season, but trivalent influenza vaccines contain only one type of influenza B virus.

Are there two types of flu vaccines?

Two types of influenza vaccine are widely available: inactivated influenza vaccines (IIV) and live attenuated influenza vaccines (LAIV). Traditionally, influenza vaccines (both IIV and LAIV) have been produced to protect against 3 different seasonal influenza viruses (also called trivalent vaccines).

READ:  Can you drink chicken bouillon cubes?

What are the different types of flu vaccines?

Traditional flu vaccines (called “trivalent” vaccines) are made to protect against three flu viruses; an influenza A (H1N1) virus, an influenza A (H3N2) virus, and an influenza B virus. There are also flu vaccines made to protect against four flu viruses (called “quadrivalent” vaccines).

Are there different flu shots for different age groups?

The seasonal flu shot is approved for most people ages 6 months and older. The shot is typically injected into the arm, either in a muscle or underneath the skin. It's important to understand that flu shots aren't one-size-fits-all. There are different types of flu shots, and some are specific for different age groups.

READ:  What does Spider Angiomas look like?