What are the 3 types of sterilization?

What are the 3 types of sterilization?

There are three levels of disinfection: high, intermediate, and low. The high-level disinfection (HLD) process kills all vegetative microorganisms, mycobacteria, lipid and nonlipid viruses, fungal spores, and some bacterial spores.

What is the principle of sterilization?

The basic principle of steam sterilization, as accomplished in an autoclave, is to expose each item to direct steam contact at the required temperature and pressure for the specified time. Thus, there are four parameters of steam sterilization: steam, pressure, temperature, and time.

READ:  What does until TMW mean?

What are the 4 methods of sterilization?

Classical sterilization techniques using saturated steam under pressure or hot air are the most reliable and should be used whenever possible. Other sterilization methods include filtration, ionizing radiation (gamma and electron-beam radiation), and gas (ethylene oxide, formaldehyde).

What is the purpose of sterilization?

The purpose of sterilization and disinfection procedures is to prevent transmission of microbes to patients. In addition to sterilization and disinfection, other important measures to prevent transmission are included in the protocol of “standard precautions” (previously known as Universal Precautions).